MANOWAR releases ‘The Revenge Of Odysseus (Highlights)’ EP

MANOWAR has just released a new digital EP, “Odysseus’ Revenge (Highlights)”via Magic Circle Entertainment.

For this project, which is based on “Odyssey”, Homer‘s tale of the great hero Odysseus and his long and perilous quest to return to his wife and son, MANOWAR went up a lot in: bassist / leader Joey DeMaio traveled to Athens to record a story with the father-and-son team It costs and Konstantinos Kazakos. It costspraised in Greece for his participation in many films and as a talented theater actor and writer, and his son Constantinewho is also a talented actor, told a touching dialogue between Odysseus and his son Telemachus. And to honor the historical source material, they did so in ancient Greek, translated from English by Sakis Tolis of Greek metal band RULING CHRIST.

“It was a pleasure and a privilege to work with It costs and Constantine, Sakis and everyone else involved in this story, ” of May said. “I am calling It costs ‘the Greek Orson Welles‘, not only because these two giants share many remarkable talents and excellent voices, but also because they are equally passionate about delivering a perfect narrative while being humble and kind at the same time! We can’t wait to share everything with our fans. “

“Odysseus’ Revenge (Highlights)” track list:

01. Athens theme (00:57)
02. Telemachus – Part I (with Konstantinos Kazakos and Sakis Tolis) (Ancient Greek) (02:42)
03. Where eagles fly (with Chiara Tricarico) (03:27)
04. Odysseus and Calypso – The Island of Ogygia (with Kostas Kazakos) (Ancient Greek) (00:45)
05. Immortal

Asked in an interview in December 2021 with Metal hammer Greece’s TV show “TV War” if next MANOWAR the release should be an album in full length, or if it becomes the previously planned follow-up to 2019’s “The Last Fight I” EP, Joey said: “It’s a very good question. You’re the first person to ask it. And right now I really do not know what’s coming next, because we had the inspiration to write this song, which I thought could be a very long normal song – like maybe 10 minutes – ‘Odysseus’ revenge’. And it just went out of hand – it just kept growing and growing. It started with: ‘Maybe it’s just English.’ Then it was: ‘Maybe it will be in Greek.’ And then it did not just become Greek – ancient Greek. And then something like famous narrators. And then it became: ‘No, we take one of the most famous, if not the most famous actor in Greece.’ And then his son will play the role of Telemachus. And it just got bigger and bigger and bigger. And now, when they came into the studio here in Athens and recorded, it just got so amazing. And now I’m stuck with a big problem – there’s so much incredible that these guys performed … So the reality, just hearing words has given me the challenge, how can I now match this amazing performance with music that will be these worthy beautiful, beautiful performances? So that’s a huge problem. So I’m looking forward to getting back in the studio and trying to serve this in the best way I can. “

MANOWAR played the first of two “secret” warm-up shows on June 4 at the Jovel Music Hall in Münster, Germany. of May and his bandmates were billed as THE LORD OF STEEL (performs “the music of MANOWAR“) to the concert, which marked MANOWAR‘s debut live performance with new drummer Dave Chedrickwho has previously played with RAVEN and KILL RITUALamong other.

Chedrick joined MANOWAR as a replacement for Anders Johansson who earlier that day announced that he would not be joining MANOWAR about the band’s upcoming “Crushing The Enemies Of Metal Anniversary Tour ’22 / ’23” due to “family obligations”.

Based in Los Angeles, Chedrick has been a metal addict all his life. Early influences include John Bonham, Neil Peart and most of all late MANOWAR drummer Scott Columbus. A skilled study musician, Dave gets praise for his professionalism, relaxed spirit and willingness to always go the extra mile in pursuit of the perfect sound.

MANOWAR‘s “Crushing The Enemies Of Metal Anniversary Tour ’22 / ’23” celebrates the band’s four-decade-long career focusing on four signatures MANOWAR albums and their anniversaries: 40 years anniversary of “Battle hymns”35 years anniversary for “Fighting the World”30 years anniversary for “The triumph of steel”20 years anniversary for “World Warriors”.

Manowar immortal

Highlights from The Revenge Of Odysseus now on iTunes worldwide.
Tonight WORLD PREMIERE ON STAGE at Release Athens!
Greetings Greece!

#immortal #revengeofodysseus #specialguests #premiere #MANOWAR

Posted by MANOWAR on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2022

Leave a Comment